Board of review

Arcada’s board of review handles matters regarding the review of admission decisions, decisions regarding the loss of the right to study and evaluations of completed courses and accreditation of previous studies or competencies.

The board of review is appointed by the university Board.

Members of the board of review 2019–2021:

Senior Lecturer  Maria Bäck 
(deputy: Senior Lecturer Robert Nordström)

Principal Lecturer Niklas Eriksson
(deputy: Senior Lecturer Linda Puukko) 

Senior Lecturer Ingmar Sigfrids
(deputy: Senior Lecturer Denise Haldin)

Senior Lecturer Jari Savolainen
(deputy: Senior Lecturer Pernilla Stenbäck)

Senior Lecturer Rene Herrmann 
(deputy: Senior Lecturer Kim Rancken)

Student Niklas Forsman
(deputy: Student Jacob Dahlberg)

The university’s General Counsel Anna Härmä presents matters for consideration to board meetings.

The Cooperations committee

Arcada's cooperation committee acts as a cooperation body between employer and employees. The cooperation committee's task is to contribute to the development of operational activities and working conditions within Arcada.

The employer is represented by Arcada's rector and/or vice rector as well as the administrative and HR Director, who acts as the chairperson for the cooperation committee. The heads of department also have the right to attend.

The employees are represented by representatives from Arcada’s two staff groups, the teaching and administrative staff. The teaching staff is represented by union representatives and/or a co-operation ombudsman. The occupational safety representative also has the right to attend.

Members of the Cooperations committee

Chairperson: Administrative and HR Director Susanne Homén-Lindberg

Delegates of the employer:
Rector Mona Forsskåhl
Administrative and HR Director Susanna Homén-Lindberg

Delegates of the employees:
Kim Rancken, Managing trustee
Jan Nyberg, Trustee
Pernilla Stenbäck, Trustee
Krister Karlström, Trustee
Maria Bäck, Occupational Safety Representative

Secretary: Leading Legal Counsel Anna Härmä

The occupational safety commission

The occupational safety commission deals with questions concerning occupational safety and equality issues.

Members of the occupational safety commission 2020–2021:

Chairperson: Administrative and HR Director Susanne Homén-Lindberg
Occupational Safety Representative Maria Bäck
Vice Occupational Safety Representative Erica Åkermarck
Vice Occupational Safety Representative Christa Tigerstedt
Head of Security David Sjöberg
Project Coordinator, Wellbeing at Work, Marina Nygård

Representatives of the occupational health service participates if needed.

Secretary: Leading Legal Counsel Anna Härmä

Arcada's plan for equality and equal treatment

The activities at Arcada are based on equality between the sexes and we are striving for ethical and social diversity. We recognise the equal value of all people and wish to promote equal treatment, stand against all manner of discrimination and xenophobia. Equality at Arcada means creating a good learning environment and workplace, where students and staff experience purpose, joy and community in their work and desire to develop the activities and themselves. 

An organisation as large as Arcada is by law obligated to produce an equality plan. The plan is based on the Law of Equality between women and men (1986/609) and the Non-Discrimination Act (2014/1325). The plan concerns both personnel and students at Arcada. The current plan can be found here.